Facebook  LinkedIn  Twitter  Youtube 

PRINT E-MAIL Bookmark and Share

Fellow of the Month

Israel Nery - May 2015 Fellow of the Month

Israel Nery
PepsiCo Foundation Law Graduate Fellow
Hometown: Los Angeles, California
Schools/Degrees: Woodbury University, M.B.A.; University of Illinois College of Law, Juris Doctor
1st Placement: Mexican American Legal Defense and Educational Fund
2nd Placement: Committee on Financial Services, U.S. House of Representatives

Israel Nery is a first generation Salvadorian-Mexican, born in Compton, and raised in Los Angeles, CA. Israel completed his undergraduate studies at the California State University, Monterey Bay, where he earned a B.S. in business administration, and graduated with honors in 2009. Israel earned his M.B.A. from Woodbury University in 2011. He then earned his Juris Doctorate from the University of Illinois College of Law in 2014.

While attending California State University, Israel was a college athlete playing for the men’s soccer team. During his tenure, he was awarded the All-Academic Award by the California College Athletic Association (CCAA). While attending graduate school at Woodbury University, Israel worked for RockCorps, a pro-social production company that uses music to inspire people to volunteer and get involved in their community. As a law student, he interned and volunteered for numerous private and public organizations such as the United States Bankruptcy Court for the Central District of California, Neighborhood Legal Services, AFL-CIO, the Office of Legislative Affairs for Illinois Governor Pat Quinn, and the Student Opportunities for After-School Resources (SOAR) program. Israel was heavily involved in the student body at the University of Illinois College of Law by serving as president of the Latina/o Law Student Association, being elected as a representative for the Student Bar Association, and  selected as a student liaison for the ABA Section of Labor & Employment Law Standing Committees. For his efforts, Israel was awarded by the Illinois College of Law the Rickert Award for Excellence in Public Service, the most prestigious award by the College of Law to students who have demonstrated an outstanding degree of commitment to work in the public interest.

As a CHCI Law Graduate Fellow, Israel seeks to build on his skills and experiences to gain a better understanding of the public-policy making process. He hopes to gain valuable insight into the areas of civil rights, taxation, and finance laws and analyze how each of them affects the Latina/o community directly.

Past Fellow of the Month

Sarah Diaz - April 2015 Fellow of the Month
Rafael Hurtado Jr. - March 2015 Fellow of the Month
Claudia Flores and Emily Noriega - February 2015 Fellows of the Month
Braulio Salas - January 2015 Fellow of the Month
Araceli Gutiérrez - December 2014 Fellow of the Month
Margarita Chavez - November 2014 Fellow of the Month
Cheye-Ann Corona - October 2014 Fellow of the Month
Eric Hernandez - May 2014 Fellow of the Month
Scott Astrada March 2014 Fellow of the Month
Daphne Delgado - February 2014 Fellow of the Month
Carolina Rizzo - January 2014 Fellow of the Month
Elizabeth Padilla-Crespo - December 2013 Fellow of the Month
Yesenia Lopez - November 2013 Fellow of the Month
Norma Salazar-Ibarra and Pedro Suarez: October 2013 Fellows of the Month
Reuben Kapp - May 2013 Fellow of the Month
Michael Bueno - Fellow of the Month - April 2013
Jennifer Castillo - Fellow of the Month March 2013
Morgan Brand - Fellow of the Month February 2013
Aurelia De La Rosa Aceves & Daniel Lind - January 2013
Aurelia de la Rosa Aceves - January 2013
Pamela Diaz - December 2012
Jose Plaza - November 2012
Elizabeth Salinas - April 2012
Mario Flores - March 2012
Tomas Robles, Jr. - February 2012
Cristal Ruiz - December 2011
Monica Bautista - November 2011
Alyssa Padilla - May 2011
Josefina Villanueva - April 2011
Alexis Ruiz - March 2011
Judith Perez -- February 2011
Romie Barriere -- December 2010
Miguel Lopez -- November 2010
Evelia Castillo -- May 2010
Julio Costa - April 2010
Ulises A. Gonzalez - March 2010
Andrea Serra - February 2010
Bertha Guerrero - January 2010
Rebecca Medina - December 2009
Rita Rico - November 2009
Craig Martinez-May 2009
Daniel Montes-April 2009
Stephen Perez-March 2009
Veronica Duron-February 2009
Esther Valle-April 2008
Robert Fuentes-March 2008
M. Lucero Ortiz-February 2008
Daniel Herrera-January 2008
Frinny R. Polanco-November 2007
Betsaida Alcantara-April 2007
Jose A. Medina-March 2007
Angelica M. Reza-February 2007